A Big Week for the FiveStars

I know we’ve had more than one of these “big week” / “big month” / “big year” articles.  To me that celebration and excitement is the best part of a start-up.  It’s one of the few jobs out there, where I can look up and say, “Wow, some cool stuff happened this week.”  Well, this week was one of those weeks, and I’m writing another “things are happening so fast and I’m so amazed” article, and you’re just going to have to deal with it.

You got a problem with that?

Ok, good.  Let’s get started.

1.)  Le Tech Crunch:  When the new FiveStars Tech Crunch Article went live, a hush fell over the office.  People slowly rose from their desks like sleepwalkers, silent, thoughtful.  Then someone shouted out with tearful eyes, “We’re finally famous!  Stage one, COMPLETE!”  An eruption of joy burst from the office.  We had accomplished the first of our three core goals: eternal glory, decadent wealth, and limitless power.

OK, we still will help awesome local businesses grow and whatever, but limitless power… mmm, yes…  limitless power…

So it begins…

So I say, “Thanks Tech Crunch, you are another step on our journey towards immortality.  And also, the article rocked.”

2.) Seventy new businesses — Seven days:  Don’t roll your eyes.  That’s a LOT!  When I first started with FiveStars, it took us months to get to seventy businesses total!  Now, poof!  One week. Seventy businesses.

Just a quick glance at our trusty FiveStars Map will show you that those seventy businesses weren’t just in the Bay Area and Los Angeles.  They were all across the nation.  (Limitless power anyone?)  On a personal note, two of those seventy businesses were out in the West Texas town of El Paso, my home town.

Would I like to buy five beautiful El Paso sunsets, and get one free?  Yes, please.

I’m not saying I got emotional, but I may have been a little misty-eyed when I called my mom to tell her the news.

3.)  Victor’s Birthday!  It was a big day for Mr. Victor Ho, our CEO (hey, that rhymes), and FiveStars had a few surprises in store for him.

I’ll just list the milestones we hit on May 22, cause there were so many:

  • One quarter of a MILLION FiveStars users.  250K.  1% (more or less) of America’s population.  Eternal Glory?  I think so.
  • Twenty-two new businesses signed onto FiveStars on that day alone.  A new record!
  • And it was Victors birthday.  I already mentioned that, but lists look dumb with only two things on them, so happy birthday, Vic!  YAY!

And here’s our memorial 250,000 user graphic!

Is this real life?

Well, that’s all for today, folks.  I normally don’t like to brag, but guess what, we’re awesome, and it’s all thanks to you, the users!

I personally want to say, “thank you.”  Supporting local business is what we are about, and we’re so glad to have you helping us fulfill our passion.  Sure, endless glory is pretty sweet (and limitless power is cool too), but at the end of the day, you are the reason FiveStars is here.  You’re the reason our doors are still open.  And you’re the reason I get to write another “big week” article and babble on about how amazed and humbled I am by all your support.  Thank you so much!

~Jeff

Jeff Doka is a FiveStars employee. He likes long walks on the beach, moonlit nights, and loyalty cards.  He studied under the great loyalty gurus Ghu Zin Wheng and Cho Ni Bah under their minds he grew to new levels of limitless reward card enlightenment.

About jeffdoka

I am Jeff Doka.
This entry was posted in General News, New Businesses and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Big Week for the FiveStars

  1. Eugene Levitsky says:

    Jeff, you are at least one order of magnitude off in your math as the US population now exceeds 320M, 250K represents less than 0.1% of that number. Happy Birthday, Victor!

    • jeffdoka says:

      Eugene,

      I choose to redefine math. I shouldn’t conform to the standards of mathematics, it should conform to the randomness of my terrible mathematics.

      Thank heaven I’m not coding. 🙂

      Jeff

Leave a Reply

